Eva Markiewicz
February 17, 2012 in Design Dilemma
I have fallen in love with the idea of a white kitchen. But I can't tell if I'm simply so fed up with our dark little 1970s kitchen that anything white and clean looks super enticing. Will white be too white and hospital like? Or do white kitchens look good? I really want something zen-like, timeless, elegant, cottage-like loads of light and windows, open, airy, clean, easy to maintain, not too expensive. Please - any thoughts are welcome - I'm not an interior designer.

Here is my ideabook on kitchens:
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
Charmean Neithart Interiors, LLC.
Most people like the idea of a white kitchen, it is very popular with hundreds of examples on Houzz. My opinion is white kitchens look best with a carefully selected white for the cabinets. Some common feedback I hear is that white kitchens can feel too cold. If you select a shade of white that is warmer with creamier tones you can avoid this "cold" problem that people describe. Here are a few warm whites that I like, all by Benjamin Moore.
Dove Wing OC-18
Glacier White AC-40
Monterey White HC-27
Also it helps to select warmer toned plumbing fixtures, for example, polished nickel is warmer than chrome. Of course tile backsplashes are another area where you can add warmth to a white kitchen palette. I've attached some pictures of a white kitchen I designed. I think the butcher block on the island helps add warmth as well. Hope that helps you and good luck with your project. Charmean Neithart http://www.houzz.com/pro/cninteriors/__public
0 Likes   February 17, 2012 at 7:13PM
Eva Markiewicz
These are excellent suggestions - thank you!
0 Likes   February 17, 2012 at 7:50PM
PRO
Lucy Interior Design