How to address a delicate difference in style with a client...
Holly Harris
March 14, 2014 in Design Dilemma
A client, from a conservative historic north east community will be spending several months a year in a contemporary high rise in Miami. Regionally, I think we'd all agree that there are significant differences in interior styles. While the client does want to feel 'at home' in Miami there are some ideas that have been put on the table that, as a designer, I can not embrace. How would you tactfully address this with a client?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
hayleydaniels
If you don't feel comfortable working with her taste, you should refer her to someone else. You can't do a good job for someone who wants things you aren't comfortable with, and she needs someone who will work to give her what she wants. Sometimes you have to realize the differences between you and whomever are too great to be able to have a working relationship.
1 Like   Thanked by Holly Harris    March 14, 2014 at 11:24AM
hanna1984
Try taking the client to furnished condos or furniture stores to see what is trendy in Miami. I'm sure you've already shown the client your portfolio - so maybe a few visits to places that typify the Miamil lifestyle will expand the client's mindset. :)
1 Like   Thanked by Holly Harris    March 14, 2014 at 11:32AM
PRO
Holly Harris Designs, LLC
Thank you for your feedback. The 'Difference' in style is more than furniture...I can work around that...it has more to do with stenciling a modern kitchen with vines and fruits. Texture and color will work as a backsplash but I'm having difficulty getting the client see past stensiling. I've pulled together some very interesting options to compliment the modern kitchen without making it look too stark or starrel...just can't get them past stencilong.
1 Like   March 14, 2014 at 11:46AM
hanna1984