Ideas for window seat for toy/game/book storage?? I need the houzzers!
mshutterbug
March 30, 2014 in Design Dilemma
Hi guys! I've been pondering this off and on for many months (but too busy with other projects...still too busy, but pondering it again anyways....everytime I look at the messy top of the current cabinet lol). Actually went to ikea a few months ago, nearly purchased the arkum cabinets to do it, and then decided it needed more consideration and planning first!
I would like to do something like this under the big (8 ft) window: http://www.centsationalgirl.com/2012/06/we-have-a-window-seat/

Here's an issue...to the bottom of the trim it's 19 1/2" (if we go above the trim, it's about 23"). So, with a 15" tall cabinet as the seat base, that would leave 4-8" for a cushion. And then you would actually be leaning back against the window itself. Unlike some of the examples, there would be no wall between top of window seat and window.

Ideally I'd love to do something roughly like this: http://www.ikeahackers.net/2013/02/built-in-bookshelves-with-window-seat-for-under-350.html
However, because the wall to the right has a window, even with the narrow Billy bookcase (11" deep) it would still block a few inches of the adjoining window, which I would NOT like at all. An alternative would be a bookcase only on the left side, but that would feel off-balance to me. I suppose I could compensate by putting some large framed photos there, maybe 2 or 3 vertically. That might help balance it visually... (quick sketch attached, but not to scale)