Looking to update and improve curb appeal, 60s colonial
radiosity
April 17, 2014 in Design Dilemma
The previous owner did not maintain the siding well and the cost to repair rotting boards/sand/change paint color etc is closing in on the price of new Hardiplank siding and gutters making that decision pretty easy. I am looking for some color combo suggestions that would complement the brick to freshen up the look. I also had considered a straight-edged shingled look above the dentil molding for the upper triangle of siding but no other home in the area has that look so we would probably stand out and look too trendy with that. Should the post/columns be updated in some way or is that character that should stay?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
lilion
I'm no expert, but I'll answer if only to bump it back up the thread. I like your house. I really like the gray of the shutters. I'd consider a light gray for the upper. It won't pop, but it would be nice I think. I'd also beef up the posts that hold up the roof and carport. The just look a litle frail for their purpose to me. Hope you get lots of good advice.
1 Like   April 17, 2014 at 11:22AM
PRO
The Red Door Team
I would add planters, paint your door a new color other then white, update your landscaping with more flowers .... just a few ideas!
1 Like   April 17, 2014 at 11:33AM
Libbmom
Would consider a straight post....
1 Like   April 17, 2014 at 11:37AM
Denita
Agree with lilion about the posts needed to be beefed up. Also like the idea of straight posts.
1 Like   April 17, 2014 at 11:41AM
PRO
flair lighting
the shrub on the left is blocking too much of the front door. remove and plant one closer to drive way or under front window. also add another one under far right window, and expand the bed out around the side walk. if you can widen the walk way that would be great too. the door would look great blue.
9 Likes   April 17, 2014 at 11:43AM
radiosity