Closet lighting?
kathymk56
May 1, 2014
I have a very large master closet / laundry room. It takes up the space above our 3 car garage. I need to replace the old florescent light fixtures in the room. I don't know what the best lighting is for a dressing room. I know that I want true color from the fixture but I don't know what that is anymore. Lighting has gotten very confusing!
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
bunnyllg
I don't know what state you live in, but some codes require that closet lighting have a lens and not be a bare bulb. Take that into consideration. I find a "whiter" light is best for looking at colors of clothing and makes it easier to pack when traveling.
    Bookmark   May 1, 2014 at 5:36PM
kathymk56
Posting again. I really need lighting advise!
Thanks
    Bookmark   May 2, 2014 at 5:57AM
decoenthusiaste
You could definitely do better than the florescent fixtures. I only see one wall outlet. LED strip lights might find an application here as could uplight cans which would give the walls a soft glow. Have you considered skylights?
CLOSET PROJECTS COMPLETED BY Closets and Cabinetry by CLOSET CITY walk in closet
2 Likes    Bookmark   May 2, 2014 at 6:20AM
Patricia Colwell
I would go with LED strips or halogen track either of these would give you a white light that makes colors truer .
    Bookmark   May 2, 2014 at 6:34AM
kathymk56
Sky Lights in Wester New York state don't do much. I have lots of outlets. I really just want to see what color my cloths are. I really like the LED Fixtures.
    Bookmark   May 2, 2014 at 6:34AM
PRO
Building Vision - Evanston, IL
Decoenthsiaste beat me to it - have you considered skylights or suntunnels? They provide great natural light, which could be helpful in choosing your colors every day.
    Bookmark   May 2, 2014 at 6:36AM
Patricia Colwell
They are great but you will still need better lighting overall. I have a big window in mine and I still need good lighting, sometimes i get dressed at night.