DMVF Architects
Architects & Designers
House Extension, Rathfarnham. contemporary-bathroom
 

House Extension, Rathfarnham.

Stone Shower Tray - The clients brief asked for extra living and sleeping areas. Due to the unusual shape of the rear garden and north facing orientation, we proposed a long single storey extension along the side of the garden. The new east facing extension housed the new living areas which receive morning light through the large timber sliding doors which opened to the stone clad garden. We used a curved zinc clad roof to detract from the linear feel with a central rooflight to pull light into the house in the afternoon. This design retained a regular shaped garden. The client’s passion for natural materials and beautiful stone is evident throughout, not just in the bathroom but throughout the ground floor, including the guest bedroom where we housed a custom designed handmade Turkish sunken stone bath. www.dmvf.ie.
URL
http://www.dmvf.ie

This photo has 10 questions

April 4, 2013
keonkim wrote:
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
DMVF Architects
Hi Keonkim,
Thanks for your message. It is not as smooth as it looks and is not that slippy. I have had no reports back from the client that it causes them any problems.
Thanks,
Colm.
DMVF Architects
   April 4, 2013 at 6:00AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
John Whipple - By Any Design ltd.
Would love to know the name of the up lights you used on this project. Are they pool and spa lights?
3 Likes   April 15, 2013 at 6:18AM
Sign Up to comment
December 7, 2012
Kya Hatcher wrote:
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
DMVF Architects
Hi Kya,
Thanks for your question. For this project our client's business was the importation os stone from Italy. DMVF designed the shower tray and he had it carved. He has his own workshop and so we were not aware of the price of this individual item. It was custom made for the project.
Kind regards,
Colm Doyle, DMVF Architects.
1 Like   January 15, 2013 at 1:56AM
Sign Up to comment
November 11, 2012
mferreira696 wrote:
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
DMVF Architects
Hi Mferreira696,
Thanks for your question. The tiles are a natural stone product that were supplied by Antica, Dublin. www.antica.ie.
I hope this is of some help.
Colm Doyle, DMVF Architects.
   January 15, 2013 at 1:59AM
Sign Up to comment
October 3, 2012
susanrobertson wrote:
love this tub! Who makes it?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
YORDA
You can contact with me: dieutran@viet-marble.com
This is picture same.
5 Likes   February 21, 2013 at 1:21AM
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
PRO
YORDA
or www.dieudesign.com
2 Likes   July 19, 2013 at 3:02AM
Sign Up to comment
September 9, 2012
ekulik2 wrote:
Love these lights! What are they?
Thank you for reporting this comment. Undo
Marty Mihal
Are they infrared heating lights? Curious if there is a practical use to them.
1 Like   September 9, 2013 at 3:29AM
Sign Up to comment
September 9, 2014
behnood_smi wrote:
August 22, 2013
Water-Spot Showrooms wrote:
Does it splash around with the rain shower acting as a tub filler?
May 29, 2013
dorihohmann wrote:
What direction should drawer pulls go? - Vertical or horizontal?
March 15, 2013
George Muchiri wrote:
where can i get search a basin - my email address is gymratgeo@yahoo.com
September 5, 2012
vernedugas wrote:
Where can I get the shower head in Canada?

What Houzz contributors are saying:

For the ultimate luxury, couple a rain showerhead with your freestanding tub. Whoa.

What Houzzers are commenting on:

Bonny Kapelko added this to Bonny Kapelko's Ideas
34 minutes ago
Bath and tiles
mkfarlow added this to Doors
1 hour ago
Interesting combo
Ashley Cox added this to ashley_cox7239093's Ideas
1 hour ago
Tub bowl shower
michelledoherty7 added this to michelledoherty7's Ideas
3 hours ago
Everything
David Gilmour added this to David Gilmour's Ideas
6 hours ago
Wow!
Lisa Smith added this to lisa_smith4674870's Ideas
8 hours ago
Wow wow wow
clay1960 added this to Clay's bathroom ideas
20 hours ago
like the look but do not like the attached fixtures
Lisa Mostert added this to lisa_mostert's ideas
21 hours ago
My favorite shower
Courtney Herbert added this to courtney_herbert's Ideas
22 hours ago
Bath
hannahfgreen added this to hannahfgreen's ideas
Yesterday
amazing!!
nasta_1234 added this to nasta_1234's ideas
Yesterday
C très pratique.
Miguel Jorda Jimenez added this to Nyacus Ideas
Yesterday
Iluminacion y ducha empotrada
Kelli Brooks added this to kelli_brooks9960012's ideas
Yesterday
very unique
zachcrawford added this to zachcrawford's Ideas
Yesterday
The awesomeness of how the shower flowed in to a bowl
Mikki Thompson added this to Mikki Thompson's Ideas
Yesterday
Love
Atul Jain added this to Atul Jain's Ideas
Yesterday
Tub
Haley Houck added this to haley_houck's ideas
Yesterday
waterfall shower
zjdanger added this to zjdanger's ideas
on Tuesday
hell yea
Mount carmel added this to Spaces!
on Tuesday
wow
topdestony added this to topdestony's ideas
on Tuesday
nice looking shower head
kirahlynn added this to kirahlynn's ideas
on Tuesday
circular tub
Stephen Husted added this to Bathrooms That Amaze
on Tuesday
Rainshower tub
Amanda Shoffner added this to Mandy Likes
on Tuesday
Just because it Rocks!
torin0531 added this to torin0531's Ideas
on Tuesday
Natural stone tike
Joaquim Menino added this to joaquim_menino's ideas
on Tuesday
wow amazing! !
smadtini added this to smadtini's Favorites
on Tuesday
Cool bath
hamshouse48 added this to hamshouse48's ideas
on Tuesday
awesome
Sarah Ohler added this to sarah_ohler's ideas
on Tuesday
*0* now this is just gorgeous.
kennikins added this to kennikins's ideas
on Tuesday
Tub
Jenna Cohrs added this to Jenna Cohrs's Ideas
on Tuesday
Nice tub
jessyrose24 added this to jessyrose24's Ideas
on Tuesday
Um yes please
Pony Weisz added this to pony_weisz's Ideas
on Tuesday
Omg
jennbly34 added this to jennbly34's Ideas
on Tuesday
Super cool
Layla added this to layla_baby's ideas
on Tuesday
love the splash. awesome head placement
nickel72 added this to Bathroom Ideas
on Tuesday
I love the unexpected and the simplicity of the design
againetc added this to againetc's ideas
on Tuesday
tub!
gngrant added this to gngrant's ideas
on Tuesday
Bathroom: Now that's bad!
Brandy Whipple added this to brandy_whipple's ideas
on Tuesday
seriously Soo cool
aidaw25 added this to aidaw25's ideas
on Tuesday
relaxing
Alex Noble added this to alex_noble5227895's ideas
on Tuesday
lights under tub
lqvaladez added this to lqvaladez's Ideas
on Tuesday
Shower
m_james14 added this to m_james14's Ideas
on Tuesday
Oval shower
Keisha Ford added this to keisha_ford's ideas
on Tuesday
want!!!!
Jillian Kwiatkowski added this to Jillian Kwiatkowski's Ideas
on Tuesday
Seems relaxing
Corin Paschal added this to corin_paschal's ideas
on Tuesday
thats so cool
Andrae Thompson added this to bathroom
on Tuesday
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!
brownie878 added this to brownie878's ideas
on Tuesday
Bowl
a88chan added this to Bathroom Ideas
on Tuesday
Wow!
sabrina77079 added this to sabrina77079's ideas
on Tuesday
bathroom
tacoker1 added this to tacoker1's Ideas
on Tuesday
Oh yes
Thalie Rayvn Vignales added this to thalierayvn_vignales's Ideas
on Tuesday
Sick tub
Aisha Logan added this to Aisha Logan's Ideas
on Tuesday
Damn!
Design Line added this to Kevin
on Tuesday
rain head shower
lydastella added this to lydastella's Ideas
on Tuesday
Ducha wow!
Linn Edwards added this to linn_edwards's ideas
on Tuesday
I want this shower an bath
oauchsav added this to oauchsav's ideas
on Tuesday
the unusual style
slmiller3 added this to slmiller3's Ideas
on Tuesday
Shape, clean line, simplicity
rog321_sarah added this to rog321_sarah's ideas
on Tuesday
That's cool
bochokoi added this to bochokoi's Ideas
on Tuesday
-
cshepherd added this to cshepherd's ideas
on Tuesday
So cooooolll
Tasha Ontopofmygame Clark added this to tashaontopofmygame_clark's ideas
on Tuesday
It's extremely gorgeous it's different
Emily Kirkendall McCullough added this to emily_kirkendallmccullough's Ideas
on Tuesday
Love love love
skyfirestorm added this to bathrooms
on Tuesday
Interestingly different
rebeccanced added this to rebeccanced's ideas
on Tuesday
the bathtub
Mike McGee added this to mike_mcgee9749668's ideas
on Tuesday
nbg
ddsmither added this to Weird
on Tuesday
Looks like a big ass bowl!
danny23 added this to danny23's ideas
on Tuesday
Water
Megan Cruz added this to megan_cruz's ideas
on Tuesday
A great hospitality idea
Decorative Glass Solutions added this to Unique
on Tuesday
So unique and chic!
Ashley Heining added this to Ashley Heining's Ideas
on Tuesday
Tub, shower in ceiling.
Elise Lowerison added this to Bathrooms
on Tuesday
Great use of lighting
weeone21 added this to weeone21's Ideas
on Tuesday
Tub
guruk added this to guruk's ideas
on Tuesday
tavandan
kimber14 added this to Bathrooms
on Tuesday
The floor/bowl that you stand in
Mss Ahmad added this to mss_ahmad's ideas
on Tuesday
close
puppyluvr added this to puppyluvr's Ideas
on Tuesday
Carrot stew
Jennifer Cervantes added this to jennifer_cervantes's ideas
on Tuesday
tub
damatriarch06 added this to Bathrooms
on Tuesday
Just the total zeniness
fowzie added this to 25 pcitures
on Tuesday
I like how the water falls from the cieling
ljtedrow added this to Our Home
on Tuesday
Ceiling faucet
Kimberly Nicoll added this to kimberly_nicoll's ideas
on Tuesday
wow
Nalanie Trumbo added this to Bathroomz!
on Tuesday
Bowl and Lighting.
ashleytenney added this to ashleytenney's Ideas
on Tuesday
Awesome tub
Savana Bailey added this to Savana Bailey's Ideas
on Tuesday
Tub
twetty34 added this to twetty34's Ideas
on Tuesday
The round tube
Amanda Ndanga added this to amanda's ideas
on Tuesday
so perfect!
mikelujan10 added this to mikelujan10's ideas
on Tuesday
bath
LaTouiya DeClouette added this to latouiya_declouette's ideas
on Tuesday
It's different...love it
madiyearwood added this to madiyearwood's Ideas
on Tuesday
Tub
jessicaprince added this to jessicaprince's Ideas
on Tuesday
Omg perfect
Brandy Whittle added this to brandy_whittle's ideas
on Tuesday
I want one!!!!!
corerawrasaur added this to corerawrasaur's Ideas
on Tuesday
I love it
CeCelia Gaines added this to cecelia_gaines's ideas
on Tuesday
love it!!
Jessica King added this to jessica_king7381757's ideas
on Tuesday
its unique
Opal Zafira added this to opal_zafira's ideas
on Tuesday
original
namita sahni added this to ntgy2k's Ideas
on Tuesday
Bathroom lights
miha89 added this to miha89's ideas
on Tuesday
wow
kaprisha23 added this to kaprisha23's ideas
on Tuesday
The tub
Anish Prasad added this to anish_prasad's ideas
on Tuesday
awesome
Edouard DuBuisson added this to Edouard DuBuisson's Ideas
on Tuesday
Bath, shower, both? Could be sized smaller or bigger.
Natasha Brower added this to natasha_brower's ideas
on Tuesday
tub
Ricardo Reis added this to Bathroom Ideas
on Tuesday
the style.
Jean Himmelstein added this to jean_himmelstein's ideas
on Tuesday
bathroom
Chandran Param Lighting Design added this to Chandran Param Lighting Design's Ideas
on Tuesday
Recessed shower head
mascara_iris added this to mascara_iris's Ideas
on Tuesday
Whoa!
Jordan Westling added this to jordan_westling's ideas
on Tuesday
really cool idea, shower
larila22 added this to larila22's Ideas
on Tuesday
Bad
sandrababy141702 added this to sandrababy141702's ideas
on Tuesday
neomiclair added this to architecture and structural things
on Tuesday
That shower!
sam945 added this to sam945's Ideas
on Monday
Shower
jess060989 added this to jess060989's Ideas
on Monday
Bath
kierstenlanee added this to kierstenlanee's ideas
on Monday
Heaven.
mtsahey added this to mtsahey's Ideas
on Monday
Nice
Natalie Meckley added this to Natalie Meckley's Ideas
on Monday
Awesome tub/shower
minparkin added this to Bathroom
on Monday
Awesome
Kimberly Lowery added this to Kimberly Lowery's Ideas
on Monday
This is so modern and different. I love the bold statement it makes
serenaurs added this to serenaurs's ideas
on Monday
raining shower
vickysons added this to My book
on Monday
Bathroom
britneyrbaker added this to britneyrbaker's Ideas
on Monday
Nice and open
lisatmaddox added this to bathroom
on Monday
What's not to love?!!!
fluffyman added this to fluffyman's Ideas
on Monday
Cool
Erin Backensto added this to erin_backensto's ideas
on Monday
love
windsoar added this to windsoar's ideas
on Monday
make me feel like im for dinner
Drawjo Pangilinan added this to drawjo_pangilinan's Ideas
on Monday
bathtub
blanco118 added this to blanco118's Ideas
on Monday
Bathroom
Charles Thibeaux added this to charles_thibeaux's ideas
on Monday
dope
kelseyfaith added this to kelseyfaith's ideas
on Monday
love the huge bowl shower thing!
desireaube added this to Bathroom Ideas
on Monday
Love this look
Valteorgenes Almeida added this to valteorgenes_almeida's ideas
on Monday
banheiro show
Kerry Hayes added this to kerry_hayes8023's Ideas
on Monday
Bathtub
Jaime Heady added this to jaime_heady's ideas
on Monday
love this
cfelicione added this to cfelicione's Ideas
on Monday
Interesting tub / shower
soberobyn added this to bathrooms
on Monday
Walls
ceci209 added this to ceci209's Ideas
on Monday
This would be awesome
congochef added this to congochef's ideas
on Monday
the overhead shower
sarmiento06 added this to sarmiento06's Ideas
on Monday
Bath
tgore29 added this to tgore29's ideas
on Monday
awesome
jayd96 added this to jayd96's Ideas
on Monday
Tub
micheri84 added this to Bathroom
on Monday
Ledverlichting onder het bad
tinker2688 added this to tinker2688's Ideas
on Monday
Mmmmm shower
ssikonzi added this to cinema
on Monday
can i get a bath tub like this
Kelli Cason added this to kelli_cason's ideas
on Monday
exotic, relaxing
melbann added this to melbann's Ideas
on Monday
Shower
Susan Hauversburk added this to susan_hauversburk's Ideas
on Monday
Unique
Amy Jones Williams added this to amy_joneswilliams's ideas
on Monday
wow its a tub
mrswillis2 added this to mrswillis2's ideas
on Monday
tub!
Tiffany Childress added this to tiffany_childress8474198's ideas
on Monday
Spa Bath
petsmogire added this to petsmogire's ideas
on Monday
bathroom
Georgian Williams added this to georgian_williams's ideas
on Monday
I love it
Michaela Stary added this to Michaela Stary's Ideas
on Monday
Badewanne
kandi0122 added this to kandi0122's ideas
on Monday
love it
anu135 added this to bathroom
on Monday
bath tub
cardenlina added this to bathroom
on Monday
Cool. Different.
Rahul Shinde added this to rahul_shinde4077157's ideas
on Monday
what a bath
carlamanda added this to Dining Room Ideas
on Monday
modern
alexxxandra added this to alexxxandra's Ideas
on Monday
Love the tub...
livmay added this to livmay's ideas
on Monday
Want
Natalie Young added this to natalie_young2396957's ideas
on Monday
the tub
imagenistix added this to imagenistix's ideas
on Monday
round bath and red leds
Adika Jalil added this to adika_jalil's ideas
on Monday
boil in bowl
alicia3992 added this to Bathroom
on Monday
Unique
Delyth Horle added this to delyth_horle's ideas
on Sunday
wow
paulmartin1 added this to paulmartin1's Ideas
on Sunday
Stone tub
scotti3719 added this to scotti3719's Ideas
on Sunday
Baby maker
mayumicab added this to mayumicab's ideas
on Sunday
round tub/shower. giant bowl
mogalybear added this to mogalybear's Ideas
on Sunday
OMG so cool!
Jelecia Ferebee added this to jelecia_ferebee's ideas
on Sunday
the layout
Sandra Martinez added this to sandra_martinez2995685's ideas
on Sunday
dream tub
Amanda Askren added this to house ideas
on Sunday
love the tub
castrogha added this to castrogha's Ideas
on Sunday
Tub
Kayna Taylor added this to kayna_taylor's ideas
on Sunday
everything
bnetta added this to bnetta's Ideas
on Sunday
This is a VERY unique tub!!' I am in love
ashnic13 added this to ashnic13's ideas
on Sunday
awesome
Jamie Haddad added this to bathroom
on Sunday
this is cool
moniquecamara added this to moniquecamara's ideas
on Sunday
Love the tub
gigiaubree added this to gigiaubree's Favorites
on Sunday
Tub
Jennifer Beyer added this to Jennifer Beyer's Ideas
on Sunday
LOVE this tub and shower combo!
Jessica Menge added this to jessica_menge's ideas
on Sunday
uhm. yeah
Nicholas Kontos added this to nicholas_kontos's ideas
on Sunday
everything!!!!!
gatarina38 added this to gatarina38's ideas
on Sunday
shower nozzle and tub's shape
Christin Haines added this to christin_haines's ideas
on Sunday
the tub
Katherine Kent added this to katherine_kent's ideas
on Sunday
master bath
Cierra McClenny added this to cierra_mcclenny's ideas
on Sunday
bath
Taryn Stone added this to Taryn Stone's Ideas
on Sunday
Batheoom
tdalea added this to bathroom!
on Sunday
bathtub!
sheribearden71 added this to sheribearden71's Ideas
on Sunday
Water from ceiling
coralbetts added this to coralbetts's Ideas
on Sunday
Bath
Avril Powell added this to My ideas
on Sunday
bathtub is amazing!
Julie Gonzales added this to Master bath
on Sunday
bath tub
booken added this to booken's Ideas
on Sunday
Is this a tub or shower
vriles added this to Bathroom Ideas
on Sunday
tub amd rain shower head
dominiquecombs added this to dominiquecombs's ideas
on Sunday
yaaasss love this
pinkzombiedoll added this to pinkzombiedoll's ideas
on Sunday
amazing freestanding tub with lights and awesome shower flow
Ebone Pate added this to ebone_pate's ideas
on Sunday
dope
downlo added this to powder rooms
on Sunday
cool!
devitamcbride added this to devitamcbride's ideas
on Sunday
tight
kvane3ssa added this to kvane3ssa's Ideas
on Sunday
Peaceful bathroom
Gloria Butler added this to gloria_butler's ideas
on Sunday
tub
© 2014 Houzz Inc. Houzz® The new way to design your home™