747 Wing House modern-patio
 

747 Wing House

David Hertz
URL
http://studioea.com

What Houzz contributors are saying:

Hertz says the idea of using a 747 came from the fact that each wing covers about 2,500 square feet. In early studies he positioned various wings on a model of the site, with the intent of maximizing views and reducing the structure needed to support the wings.As realized, the wings step down the terrain to allow views from one level over the lower level. This also has the effect of giving visibility to the wings and creating in-between spaces, such as the one pictured here, where Rehwald can feel like she's in flight.

What Houzzers are commenting on:

Dara Kishic added this to Dara Likes
June 29, 2014
Shadows
grayr added this to grayr's Ideas
February 7, 2014
1
Igit Indigo added this to igit_indigo's ideas
January 2, 2014
cool
Mercury Mosaics and Tile added this to The Great Outdoors
January 1, 2014
Beautiful view
Concrete by Design added this to gagcvorster9's ideas
November 5, 2013
fire pit
fathemeh added this to fireplace
November 3, 2013
FIRE
getitdonebobby added this to getitdonebobby's ideas bulletin
October 31, 2013
747 yes
teschendorf added this to teschendorf's Favorites
October 31, 2013
Fire pit
gintare added this to Idėjos
October 31, 2013
ugnis
Nyamongo Onkware added this to nyamongo_onkware's ideas
October 30, 2013
pd
jwamulume added this to jwamulume's ideas
October 30, 2013
The sunset
K K added this to Maui Side Yard
October 30, 2013
combination of fire, water and view
harrietbradley added this to Stuff I dream about
October 30, 2013
This house feels like you are airborne.
krysecomputer added this to krysecomputer's ideas
October 30, 2013
the serene settings and design
Jim Oldfield added this to Our Future Home Ideas
October 30, 2013
I love the picture. Evokes the idea of flying at cruising altitude watching the sunset over the Rockies.
pattinich added this to pattinich's ideas
October 30, 2013
this is amazing beautiful vision and home
incroyable added this to incroyable's Pictures
October 30, 2013
wow
Ryan Stuve added this to ryan_stuve's ideas
October 30, 2013
overhangs
Daniel Dekoker added this to daniel_dekoker's Ideas
October 30, 2013
Aircraft theme.
sergiogugu added this to sergiogugu's ideas
October 30, 2013
airplane house
isabar29 added this to Déco extérieure/ Exterior decor & Landscape
October 30, 2013
Fireplace!
kbmiles added this to Patio Ideas
October 30, 2013
cawilk213 added this to cawilk213's Ideas
October 30, 2013
Unique!
Jon Wooden added this to jon_wooden's ideas
October 30, 2013
I like the combination of the fountain with the flame out of the center
M. K. Smith Builders added this to modern
October 30, 2013
wing roof
Tash Jeary added this to My future house ...
October 30, 2013
Outside fire
Joe Thourot added this to joethourot's ideas
October 30, 2013
Great reuse
jmkovach11 added this to furniture
October 30, 2013
Airplane house
lynleigh added this to Lynleigh's ideas
October 30, 2013
Parts of a 747 for the actual structure.... Amazing.
partalos added this to To Spiti Mou
October 30, 2013
Roof
pinoyshaun1991 added this to pinoyshaun1991's Ideas
October 30, 2013
Sunset
dabuya added this to RIAT Ideas
October 30, 2013
747 House. Elegant!
1nterior added this to outdoor
October 30, 2013
Gas fire
Christian Nolen added this to christian_nolen's Ideas
October 29, 2013
Planes
© 2014 Houzz Inc.
Houzz® The new way to design your home™