Funderburk - Main Street Renovation 2010
The Thomas Funderburk House. - Built in 1935 - Renovation completed in 2010 by Jim and Janet Johnson. History. Originally located in downtown Matthews on the corner of Trade and Matthews-Mint Hill Rd. the home was moved when the land it was situated on was sold to built a medical complex. The home was moved by Mary & Tommy Funderburk in 1983 to a lot on Trade St. across from Matthews United Methodist Church. That land was sold to Plantation Estates. The Johnson's moved the to its current location of 135 Main Street and completed the renovation in 2010. This home won the Historic Charlotte Preservation Award.