Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
webuser_355114

House Hit - Lightning

Fried my puter & all our TVs & cable boxes, air conditioning unit, clocks & most digital stuff like the Microwave & oven/stove, stereos .... Don't know the full extent of the damage yet, but it messed up the house wiring, too.

I was in the family room reading during a not-too-bad storm. Alla sudden there was, simultaneously, a lightning flash, thunder clap, a spark/flame shot out of a wall outlet about 3 feet (I was looking past the outlet through the open garage door when it happened), and a report IN THE FAMILY ROOM as loud as a .38 or 9mm gunshot (I'm a concealed carry/multiple disciplines instructor, so I KNOW what gunshots sound like) scared the heck out of me. A few seconds later, the basement smoke alarm went off, but I couldn't smell anything down there. At first, I thought the puter was the only casualty, but all through the day yesterday, we kept discovering more & more appliances that were affected - not to mention the wiring.

Sigh - what a PITB! I'm at work for awhile today (cuz I prolly WON'T be tomo), so thought I'd say hey & relate my little adventure. ;o) No one hurt and no fire, so praise God for that.

Later.

Al

Comments (35)

• pat_123
    14 years ago

Al-
    Sorry to read about this. Glad to know no one was hurt - sounds really scary. Check back in with us when you can.

- Pat

• colokid
    14 years ago

So sorry. Makes a real mess. Had it happen to me a few years ago. You have probably lost more than you at first think. For years after my refrigerator and furnace switches gave problems until replaced. think it kind of burned the contacts. Be sure to list all things when you file insurance.
    KennyP
    PS: Did it help to ripen the tomatoes or curl their leaves?

• tapla (mid-Michigan, USDA z5b-6a)
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks, Pat. ;o)

KP - Oh - you mean from all that extra N that lightning puts into the air? Lol

Al

• bhmlurker
    14 years ago