diegartenfrau

Foilastic glazing tape/HFGH

diegartenfrau
9 years ago

Hi all, I am a complete novice when it comes to Greenhouse gardening or putting one together so please excuse my asking this silly question

we just got a HFGH 6x8 Greenhouse, thanks to the Greenhouse forum information here and online, it went up pretty easy and is looking good already. Before we put it together I came across the tips to get extra panel clips, "T"bolts, the breathable tape to close of the panel top and bottom and Glazing Tape(http://www.charleysgreenhouse.com/index.cfm?page=_productdetails&productid=1532)......so I ordered all of these at Charley's Greenhouse. Only now I can't find the information what to do with the Glazing tape. Where do I put it? Does it go on the outside sealing the joints? I can't figure out how to use it?

Could someone please explain how and where to use it. My husband thinks it needs to be stuck on the inside of the greenhouse at the panel joints.....but that doesn't make any sense to me, since you would cover up the accessory channels then making them not usable.

Could someone please explain how and where to use it?

Thank you and have a great gardening day!

Isabell

Comments (17)

• mudhouse_gw
    9 years ago

(No questions are silly!) Congratulations on getting your greenhouse up. I have the HFGH 10x12 and enjoy it 365 days a year.

I'm drawing a bit of a blank on the need for glazing tape too. I didn't use any on mine. As you mentioned, it's a good idea to tape the tops and bottoms of the poly panels, to prevent dirt, insects, and green goo from setting up camp inside the small polycarbonate channels. I've read that breathable tape is best (I used cheaper aluminum tape from the big box stores, but it started peeling after a few years in our sun.)