Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marie99_gw

Passive heat water in drums

marie99
17 years ago

I'm pretty new to greenhouses. I built one out of mostly recycled materials. Last year it wasn't heated at all and I started veggies 2 months early. I kept my patio plants alive in there by adding a little clear plastic tent during the worse part of winter.

I just found out the local animal shelter has a gazillion 55 gallon plastic drums sitting outside that they plan to throw away. They said I could come pick up as many as I want. Of course I'm going to make a donation, but I think I can fill 4-5 with water and black dye and generate a reasonable amount of heat for a 8x12 greenhouse that is protected on one 8 foot side by a shed.

Comments (50)

• marquisella
    17 years ago

Just put a large black plastic lawn/trash bag over the top of the barrels, works and you don't have to dye the water or paint the barrels.

M

• marie99
    Original Author
    17 years ago

That's really great to know, because when I got them home they turned out to be whiter/thicker than I had thought. I was dreading washing/sanding/painting them. but I scored 8 drums. They get disinfectant in it. Woohoo!

• stressbaby
    17 years ago

M, does this work as well? What is you experience? Wouldn't the air layer insulate the barrels?

I have an experiment going right now with black water, blue water, and a couple of different paint techniques. I'll see if I can add a black bag arm to the study...

• Karen Pease
    17 years ago

I agree with not letting the water be exposed. Sure, it transfers heat better if you have evaporation, but the algae mess and mosquito breeding easily offsets that. My exposed water scared my little cousins. ;) I guess they thought it was The Blob or something. To counteract the algae, I added bleach -- but that only helped for a while, and it corroded the plastic containers until they were too brittle to use.