tlfox

Newly diagnosed vinegar allergy...now what?

tlfox
July 17, 2010

Hello - new to the harvest forum, but was told on good authority that many are here that might be able to help me. I have been canning for several years - and still learning, but a curve ball has been thrown into my canning season.

Well - a recently diagnosed vinegar allergy (includes any alcohols - as they are the beginning product of vinegar) is in the family. This has caused me to rewrite all kinds of recipes to replace all commercial condiments and dressings. After trial and error, it is old hat - but summer is here and it's time to start canning.

I would like to know if any of you have any suggestions for replacing vinegar in canning recipes. I know that long shelf life sauces for the refrigerator require bottled lemon juice - as it has a stable acid level. But...I don't want to play around with canning things only to discover that they are ruined when winter gets here.

Thank you for any help you can offer!

Tiffany

Comments (8)

• digdirt2

Hi Tiffany - can you tell us what sort of things you are interested in canning specifically?

For examples, tomatoes and all the tomato based recipes require no vinegar except ketchup and bar-b-q sauce. Neither do most of the fruit recipes. All the garden vegetables are canned without vinegar.

It is mostly the pickling recipes that you have to skip and with them there isn't any sub for vinegar.

Dave

• tlfox

Well - I am looking at plum sauces, BBQ sauces, different kinds of ketchup (that is a big one - it is the stepping off point for alot of sauces on the fly) - mainly marinades and condiment type things.

So many pickle recipes are out - I have resorted to refrigerator pickles with pretty good results - they are usually gone before I have to worry about spoilage.