Your shopping cart is empty.
Find the right pro for your project

Break O'Day tomatoes

anney
July 5, 2010

Has anyone grown Break O'Day? It's my first time growing them, and I won't grow them for eating tomatoes if I grow them again. Even when red-ripe, they're tart and sour, not very complex. Has that been your experience, too?

I'm hoping they'll blend in with the other tomatoes to make sauce, along with Opalkas and any Brandywine-types we can't eat before they're too ripe, some Sun Leaper determinates, and SunGold Select IIs that we don't eat.

Comments (9)

• carolyn137

Yes, I've grown Break O Day. It's a terrific older commercial variety, pre 1940 I'd have to check the exact date, with round red blemish free fruits that are great fresh or doing whatever you want to with them.

When folks complain about OP's not yielding as well as some hybrids or are asking for a good canning tomato Break O Day is always on the list that I suggest.

Carolyn

• anney

Carolyn

I've found that the Goose Creeks I'm growing are MUCH more productive and are disease-free so far. But my disappointment is about the Break O'Day taste, not its other qualities. I had really looked forward to growing them and adding them to my must-grow list.

Have you used them for sauce? That's one of the suggestions for this variety at one site I've seen. I think if they're combined with other "sweeter" tomatoes with a more complex taste, they won't be a waste!

• carolyn137

NO Anney, I haven't used them for sauce; I haven't made sauce in a long long time but when I did I'd use just the best tsting most dense great tasting varieties I had at the time, and taste is NOT a feature of most paste tomato varieties IMO. The taste for me has been excellent and I use them as fresh eating tomatoes and when I was selling to chefs and at a farmstand they were one of the many varieties that were used.

Carolyn

• anney

Carolyn