Your shopping cart is empty.

First meeting with builder - what to ask?

scrapulous
December 25, 2009

Hello, I tried searching this forum to see if this question has been asked before, but I didn't find anything. Forgive me if this is redundant.

My husband and I are considering building a home, but the neighbor we would like to build in requires that we use one of their 4 custom home builders. I've never done this before, so I'm wondering what I need to ask each builder.

My main question is, of course, what his price per square foot is. However, if that number is higher than we would like, is it reasonable to ask that we try to figure out what can be cut out in order to lower the price?

We are not particularly fancy people, so we don't need super high-end finishes. I imagine that most custom home builders work with people who have more money than we do and who would like and can afford the very high-end finishes that make a home "custom." The only reason we are looking at a custom home builder is to get into a particular neighborhood. The outside of our home would be similar to the others in the neighborhood, but the inside would be more simple (i.e. no marble columns in the bathroom, no wine cellars, no custom sized windows, etc.).

Is it reasonable to ask a custom home builder to do that in order to keep the cost down?

Comments (17)

• creek_side

A lot of custom home builders are short on work, so you may be able hire one that otherwise would not be available to build a modest home.

Don't ask for a price per square foot. It is a misleading and meaningless measure. Instead, talk to the builder about what you want and do not want. Don't be apologetic because you don't see yourselves as high end clients. Do be specific about the quality levels you expect.