Your shopping cart is empty.

Repairing Stacked Washer / Dryer is it really that big of a deal?

jlnjz
January 7, 2010

I have a Duet washer and dryer that is currently not stacked and I've had them 3 or 4 years. I had a minor repair and asked my repair guy if he could stack them for me and he said "yes" but he recommended against doing it because he said if they are stacked and need to be repaired then 2 guys have to come each time because the need to be unstacked to repair them. I do know that electronic repairs for the washer are in the top of it so I know he is right but I'm wondering if anyone has had this as an issue ended up wishing they hadn't stacked them. I am considering a remodel and the design relies upon stacking -- there wouldn't be room to unstack and place side by side....hopefully, you don't have to have repairs often!

Comments (12)

• dadoes

I personally would never stack a pair. I worked in the appliance repair business years ago when frontloaders weren't yet common, so never had to deal with those ... but pulling out wall-mounted window a/c units sometimes was a problem. It's possible some repair services won't deal with a stacked set if the location is particularly difficult.

• regus_patoff

You could stack them ....

and if either needed repairing, YOU could un-stack them ...

• caryscott