Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fishfacenj

What's a reasonable price for silk drapes...

fishfacenj
15 years ago

Local Calico Corners has a set of 2 panels of custom silk drapes, lined, 96" long. Each panel is 1.5 widths (I'm new to this...does this make sense to others?) Whoever ordered them changed their mind. They are for sale for $700, but a decorator I'm working with said she can "make an offer" on them (which may or may not be accepted). We've rented apartments for over a decade, so the most I've spent on a "curtain" is maybe $30 (using a BedBathandBeyond coupon), and this is new territory for me. It would work color and size-wize in our living room, and I'm willing to "invest" in quality drapes, but this is so out of my league! Any insight on costs for custom pinch-pleat silk drapes?

Comments (10)

• demifloyd
    15 years ago

I have custom pinch pleat silk drapes with heavy interlining.
    My recollection is the silk was $59 per yard.

The labor was expensive, but they were hand finished and they are the quality and workmanship that I have always wanted and was finally able to have in our retirement home.

I guess I'm trying to tell you they were $$$$'s. You can get drapes that have a similar look for a lot less without the heavier weight and workmanship and they will be fine.

Or you can have some made of more expensive fabric--there are so many price points on draperies and upholstered goods, I think a good eye and a knowledge of fabrics and details, and the ability to find a good bargain here and there can help a lot when trying to get the most for your money.

• User
    15 years ago

Demifloyd, your curtains look to be at least two widths of fabric (54" x 2), so the curtains fishfacenj is considering will not be nearly as full as yours'.