Your shopping cart is empty.

anyone use chalk paint on walls?

dab07
July 16, 2012

If so, can you post pictures? Does it hold up well? I'm thinking of using it on a bathroom wall. There's a shower in the room, so it gets steamy sometimes.

Comments (18)

• 4boys2

Why do you want to use chalk paint ?

• dab07

Ah, ok, good question. I have no experience with decorative wall painting. Maybe it's not the right paint for walls. I'm interested in having a kind of old plaster look. I've seen pictures illustrating techniques where it's done using two colors of paint, and the result is subtle and natural looking. But I've also seen it look overwrought, which I don't want. From what I've read about chalk paint, I got the impression it might be easier to create the look I want than with standard wall paint. I'd like it to be flat and chalky, with no sheen. But maybe its not appropriate for this use?

• jan_in_wisconsin

Chalk paint can be used on walls. You can read about some techniques in Annie Sloan's Quick and Easy Paint Transformations. The book details a lot of furniture projects, however, it also describes painting walls. I haven't tried chalk paint on walls, personally. Here is a link:

Here is a link that might be useful: Annie Sloan's Quick and Easy Paint Transformations

• dab07

Thanks. What appeals to me is all the descriptions of changing it easily if you're not happy with it.

• dab07

Here's a picture of the kind of look I'm after on my wall, in a lighter color though. (Click to zoom in.) See how the paint doesn't look uniform, it's kind of uneven, but subtle? Can this be achieved with regular paint? I know nothing about decorative painting, as I said...

Here is a link that might be useful: painted wall

• chibimimi

Egg, your example looks like it might be Venetian plaster, which I understand is much more difficult to apply than regular paint -- a lot of elbow grease required.