Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ashberina

Crappy Cabinet Painting Job - What to do?

ashberina
9 years ago
last modified: 9 years ago

My husband and I are finishing off our kitchen prior to selling. We'd been working with a carpenter belonging to a GC, who had done a fantastic job installing our high-end salvage cabinets. When it came time to paint the cabinets, we didn't want to risk messing them up with a DIY job (although I'm actually an experienced painter) so we asked if the GC had painters who could paint kitchen cabinets -- turns out, the carpentry team does that as well. His estimate was higher ($2700), but we thought they'd probably throw in some patching of nail holes and such.

The results are disappointing. They not only didn't do much patching, but the texture is bumpy and unprofessional throughout (to touch and to see), has small bits of hair stuck to it in a few areas, and odd brush marks here and there since they used rollers and brushes. It looks like a diy project, and it took all three carpenters some 4 days of constant work to get it done. Additionally, they didn't paint our island since it wasn't spelled out in the contract. They were trying to get us to pay them an egregious amount to paint the walls (which we declined) and apparently the island "would have been included in the wall fee." (again, not spelled out in either contract, but clearly a cash-grab in my book).

So, my question is, could anyone tell me what my options are? We're going to confront the GC about the poor workmanship on the cabinets, but I'm worried because we're putting our house on the market in less than a month, and seeing how long it took them to do this poor paint job, I'm actually assuming they've never painted cabinets before. To make it look good, I literally would want them to dismantle, sand down and repaint everything, which means they would have to start from scratch, taking at least 4 days with all of them working, and who knows what the results would be.