Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lnardi81

Very first remodel - any advice appreciated!

Laura
8 years ago
Hi! We are completely renovating our very first home - an adorable lake cottage we just bought and renovated completely (new electric, plumbing, roof, joists, walls). Pretty much only the bones and foundation are original. My true passion is home design and this is my very first project. It just happens to be one of the biggest and most important! I'm designing the whole house myself so any advice from this forum is more than appreciated. Thank you all in advance!

The kitchen will be all white (cabinets pictured) with Italian slate tile and white veins. The tile is in the kitchen and dining room. The countertops are white quartz with grey veins. The flooring thought the rest of the house is wood. I'll be staining it a very light brown (was going to stain dark but changed my mind). The house is very small (1,000 sq.ft) so I'm trying to do my best first time around. I will be posting more of the house in new discussions where I can post more pictures.

The house is open concept and the color I would like throughout the living room/dining room is "Ewing Blue" by Benjamin Moore. It's the horizontal paint color on the bottom of the first picture.

Question: I would like "Ewing Blue" the kitchen, flowing into dining room ( pic 2), as well as in the living room ( pic 3). I was thinking of painting the dining room a different color, but am still on the fence. The problem is I have this gorgeous table from the 1950s from my grandmother re-stained/painted (pic 4) and am concerned it might not look right with the paint color. The table top is a dark stain.

Pic 1: colors - bottom horizontal color - "Ewing Blue" Benjamin Moore.
Pic 2: galley kitchen opens to dining room (this was a screened in porch that we enclosed as part of the house)
Pic 3: living room with view of kitchen and part of dining room

Looking forward to hearing from everyone!

Comments (30)

• Lindsay K