Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carolbrandywine

Newbie gardener: So confused about my fall garden. Help!

Kendrah
8 years ago
last modified: 8 years ago

I am new to gardening. I have two nice strips of garden along my back patio that are highly visible from the kitchen and I want to have looking nice year round. I am in zone 7, Philadelphia. The garden is shady most of the day.

1. What kinds of annuals I can plant there that will give my garden some life well into the fall and winter. Unfortunately, I am not really attracted to mums, kales, or asters. Is there anything else? This garden is highly visible from the kitchen and I would love for it to look nice.

2. I currently have lots of vinca, some dying annuals, pathetic hellabores, and spindly bleeding heart plants, and a few mouse ear hostas there. What do I do with these to prepare for winter? Do I cut them down? If so, how far?

3. Would tulips and daffodils grow back here? I think the former owners had some daffodils that got yanked out by construction workers. When would I plant more bulbs? Also, if I want more bleeding hearts, when do those go in?

(This is the only picture I have of my kitchen windows. The kitchen is now finished. I just wanted to give an idea of how right in your face these gardens are.)

Comments (11)

• ptreckel
    8 years ago
    Hostas come in a wide variety from HUGE to tiny, and in a wide range of colors. Once you enter Hosta World you will be amazed! Other perennials that do well in heavy shade are astilbe, sedum, and ferns. You certainly can plant bulbs. Do note that deer, squirrels and chipmunks LOVE to eat tulips and will dig and eat the bulbs! So, be forewarned. Daffodils, not so much. Your hostas will look good until the first frost. Then you can remove the dead leaves and wait for them to emerge again in the spring. Some annuals last well into the fall. New Guinea Impatiens, Perunias, Geraniums, etc. but once that first frost comes....they are gone.