Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
shelleyr32

What color bathroom walls to compliment new granite?

Shelley R
8 years ago

My new granite was installed yesterday in the kitchen and master bath. Now I've got to choose a color for the bathroom walls. One bathroom design article that I read suggested peach, coral, or similar colors to make your skin look better in the mirror. I need all the help that I can get, so if green walls would make my skin look green, that's not for me!

I will paint the cabinets white. I kept my existing sinks and faucets because I like them and couldn't afford to replace them. I bought oval frameless mirrors and wall sconces that are polished chrome with opaque white shades. This is my first attempt at a bathroom color. How does it look? If you don't like it, please suggest another color. I'm looking forward to suggestions from the talented Houzz community.

Comments (19)

• acm
    8 years ago

Well, I guess your white and gray are neutral enough to support most any colors, but I would have gone for a cool gray (one of the lightest tones from your counter) and a number of other colors before I got to coral. What color is your flooring?

• PRO
    BeverlyFLADeziner
    8 years ago

Can't disregard the color of your vanity which is a creamy white.

• Shelley R
    Original Author
    8 years ago
    last modified: 8 years ago

I stated above that I would paint the cabinets white. But, I really don't want gray or white walls in my bathroom. This article is a few years old, but it resonates with me. An excerpt that describes what I'm trying to achieve:

"You want colors that are flattering to the skin
    — whatever you put on the wall will be the color reflected in your
    (face's) shadows," says Jarrett Hedborg, whose celebrity clients include
    Jim Carrey, Bette Midler and Jeff Bridges. "I'll never do a green
    bathroom because cool tones tend to be unflattering and make you look