Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kfrits

Bringing a mid-century lake cabin into the 21st century...

kfrits
8 years ago

Hello- This lake house has been in our family since it was built in the 1940's. It hasn't really been updated as you can see. I have no experience with mid-century decor but I want to keep that vibe going- just refresh it and make it cool. The couch needs to be recovered, I'd like a new rug and coffee table and trade out the day bed by the window for a couple more chairs or a small table and chairs for playing games. The floor is very dark gray, almost black linoleum which is staying. I plan to take down all the photos and I'm open to either painting the plywood or adding wood panels or boards to the white wall. I have some nice 8" fir lap siding boards that I could use. I am in love with a dark teal/peacock color right now and am thinking about using that for the couch. No TV. Keep the dark ceiling beams and soffit. Here is where I can use some help please... colors: rug? couch? walls? chairs? what should I do to the walls to unify them- one side is stained plywood, the other side is painted plywood. Should the rug just be in front of the fireplace or should it fill the seating area more? I would like it to be bright and colorful but still feel timeless. Thanks in advance!

Comments (11)

• Vicki Denson
    8 years ago

With the dark floor and ceiling keep the wall a light color and leave the wood around the fireplace only, as your vocal point wall.

You say your in love with the teal peacock color NOW, use this color for pillows, throws, rug, the items easier to change should your color choice change. Cover your couch in a more neutral color, maybe gray or tan. Consider making a nod to the era and cover the couch in a mild yellow not the harvest gold of the time.

The rug should not be in front of the fireplace for safety issues alone. Consider a couple of rugs a large one for the seating area and another in front of the daybed.