Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
william_huan

Wall colour suggestions for small consultation room

William Huan
8 years ago

Hi all! I am really a novice when it comes to interior design and I would really appreciate any suggestions regarding the choice of colour for the consultation room of my private medical practice. The two things that I can't change are the white to off white floor tiles and the room size, which is about 120sq ft. Unfortunately there are no windows to let in natural light. Currently the walls are painted white by default but I wanted to change it to a colour that would be inspiring ( since I'll be in this room up to 10 hours a day ) yet not too fatiguing for my patients. My furniture is mostly on the darker hues ( dark brown to black ) but I'm open to any suggestions regarding that as well. Many thanks in advance!

Comments (8)

• Catherine O
    8 years ago

Hello

Here are some suggestions without the benefit of some pictures.

Wall Color: You can do the usual beige (more like a khaki), grey or white because of the dark furniture. However, I'm going to include some psychology to this and tell you to do something in the green family. Green supposedly projects good health and calmness. I like moss, sage, or something in that realm.

Added Suggestions:

1. Wall art of medical subjects pertaining to your specific medical practice on one wall. I like to hang things in odd numbers, so 3 or 5 of them depending on the space and what you find.

2. A nice plant in the farthest corner of the room. Try not to get the usual ones; do something different; and of course it could be a fake.

3. If you feel the floors are really bad, you can always add an area rug that is colorful and printed. Or a neutral one in a geometric print.

4. For lighting I would get some uprights to place in corners. I do not know what kind of lighting you already have, but a new ceiling light and sconces will add good light. If you have side tables, add lamps.