Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tracyaine

Which railing is "Correct"? Needs work, where to start?

Comments (22)

• baileysr
    7 years ago
    I'm not an expert, but it looks to me like the spacing in the upper rail is a bit wide, like it might not pass inspection. Isn't the rule something like max space of less than 4 inches, so kids don't get their head stuck?
    Tracy Holland With Agnes Agatha thanked baileysr
  • PRO
    BeverlyFLADeziner
    7 years ago

I like the one on the second floor, but it may not meet code if that is an issue where you live. Here's the railing is you add additional rails.

Tracy Holland With Agnes Agatha thanked BeverlyFLADeziner
  • PRO
    Ellsworth Design Build
    7 years ago
    No railing can have an opening a 4" sphere (baby head) can pass through.

The plainer detailing on the first floor is likely what the house was born with.
    Tracy Holland With Agnes Agatha thanked Ellsworth Design Build
  • dcxena
    7 years ago

Hmmm. Perhaps, but I suspect it varies significantly by state. It's quite interesting what a difference in building codes there are between a highly regulated, restrictive state like, say, California, and a more libertarian state like South Carolina. Different strokes for different folks...

• PRO
    Ellsworth Design Build
    7 years ago
    I think the 4" rule is in the national building code and has been for awhile. Some jurisdictions are more lax about applying it.
    Tracy Holland With Agnes Agatha thanked Ellsworth Design Build
  • dcxena
    7 years ago

Haha, you may be exactly correct about the "lax" part...kind of like how certain federal laws are enforced or not depending on where you live.

Tracy Holland With Agnes Agatha thanked dcxena
  • flopsycat1
    7 years ago

I prefer the ground level railing, looks more period appropriate. Now, for your second question, " needs work....," what exactly are you interesting in doing?

Tracy Holland With Agnes Agatha thanked flopsycat1
  • User