Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
onnf2019

QUIET exhaust fan quest.

onnf2019
7 years ago

I wear hearing aids and am a serious cook. Need a fan that meets code, functions, is quiet and then simple design. If I had my way, I wouldn't have an exhaust (this will be my first). I'd just open the window, but code is code. Sigh.

It is to go above a CORNUFE 110 and will be mounted about 5" higher than average. (I hate hitting my head and don't like the way they darken the cooking area, even with LED lights) Thus, it will have to be slightly more powerful.

I'd LOVE one with the motor mounted on the roof. I could vent this from the cabinet, into the adjacent chimney and straight up! But I'm not sure if the sound of exhausting through the chimney will create a sound tunnel. No professional has been able to answer that one.

I have been researching this for 2 years!!

Manufacturers are not answering all my questions. HVAC locals have never installed a room mount motor that wasn't commercial and can't advise.

I should have thought of asking the community at Houzz a long time ago!

Comments (11)

• User
    7 years ago

If it is "code", then how could this "be your first"? Where do you live that the permit for installing the stove let's you wait 2 years to install it correctly? Most building permits expire after 6-12 months, and you would lose your certificate of occupancy, meaning you would not be allowed to live there if a hood were necessary for code.

These installation instructions do not require a hood.

http://www.lacornueusa.com/file/10

Neither does the IRC

A code required vent hood would have to be installed no higher than the distances mentioned in the installation instructions. The hood would only be allowed to be higher if the hood is not required by code.

If it is required by code, what is the required CFM, and how far past the range must the hood extend?

• onnf2019
    Original Author
    7 years ago