Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
yowp

Low ceilings. Do I have to give up on crown mouldings?

YOWP Tree
6 years ago

We have low ceilings. Do I have to give up my dream for crown mouldings?

Husband says it's 7 ft 11 1/2 inches high.

Master bedroom:

Living room/Dining room:

Kitchen/Dining room:

Comments (15)

• chloebud
    6 years ago

I'm not a pro but can offer this. Our ceilings are 8' and...IMO...the crown molding really makes a difference by pulling the eye up. I wouldn't get anything too wide. With the exception of the living room, I think ours are maybe 4" max. The crown is larger in the living room but it looks great. Not sure if it matters but that room is also large. All the crown molding was here when we bought the house. Love it.

YOWP Tree thanked chloebud
  • Susan Davis
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Our entire house is 8 foot ceilings and it is all done in crown moulding and I love it...no your ceilings are not too short....I would to the standard 3-4 inch depth though.

Historic Home Expanded · More Info

YOWP Tree thanked Susan Davis
  • YOWP Tree
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Thanks Susan! I also need a style that's not too ornate but looks good.

• PRO
    Main Line Kitchen Design
    6 years ago

Your ceiling height is fine for crown moldings. Presently less ornate crowns like cove crowns are more popular than the ornate moldings of a decade ago.

YOWP Tree thanked Main Line Kitchen Design
  • jerzeegirl (FL zone 9B)
    6 years ago

I have crown moldings on my 8 foot ceilings. It's four inch cove and it look very nice. I actually this it makes the ceilings look higher.

YOWP Tree thanked jerzeegirl (FL zone 9B)
  • Judy Mishkin
    6 years ago