Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
buckeye2181

Reconfiguring a small kitchen with a weird wall

Bridget Gowan
6 years ago

We have a random wall that makes it confusing on how to visua a new layout for a kitchen remodel

Comments (30)

• PRO
    JAN MOYER
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

From that photo.......... we can't either. Draw the kitchen as is and put all walls, dimensions etc ON it. with more photos. I can't even tell what "random" wall you are talking about. It looks like a galley kitchen. The wall isn't "weird" the fridge jutting from it.....IS.

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    6 years ago

I agree 100 %

• Bridget Gowan
    Original Author
    6 years ago

Sorry here is the question I know we can remove the wall with the refrigerator and add an L shape island but then we are still stuck w this awkward wall. And if we remove it then the hole hose will just be completely open no sections at all. I'm no designer just don't have an idea of what to do with this wall and we don't have more then $45,000 to do this

• chickadee70
    6 years ago

Well, First thing is you'll need to find out what you can remove or not, is there any load bearing or mechanical systems in the walls there? Can't design without this knowledge first.

• Bridget Gowan
    Original Author
    6 years ago

The wall with the refrigerator is not load bearing the wall with the wet bar and desk and pantry is load bearing but we do not mind some sort of beam but if we removed that wall as well would you completely turn around the layout and add an island vertically. In towards the dining room.

• Janie Gibbs-BRING SOPHIE BACK
    6 years ago

Is it the pass through that you do not like?

Can you post a diagram?

• acm
    6 years ago

floor

plan

!!

• chickadee70
    6 years ago

Is that an air return vent in the ceiling above the desk?

• shirlpp
    6 years ago