Your shopping cart is empty.

Salvia patens tubers

frances_in_nj
November 1, 2017

I was wondering if anybody here has dug up and wintered over salvia patens tubers? I saw something online that suggested that you could do this, essentially treating them just like dahlia tubers. Was just wondering if anybody had experience with this? Thanks!

Comments (21)

• Jean

Yes, you can. I think I would bury it in barely moist potting mix.

I'm in zone7; my plant survived winters in the ground.

• samhain10 - 5a

Frances - I just dug up my s. patens (Blue Angel) recently and stored them in perlite, as I had read the same thing about storing them like dahlias. I've never done it before. Want to meet back here in the spring and compare notes? I'm bookmarking this page.

BTW, I didn't moisten the perlite, but I think I will check them later in the winter and see if they are shriveling too much, at which time, I may moisten the perlite slightly. I'm more concerned about rot than about the shriveling, though.

Alex

• frances_in_nj

Hi Alex, well, being really impatient, I potted up one of my saved salvia patens tubers (I know its probably WAY too early, but I have a bunch of them so figure I can afford to experiment). I stored mine like I do my dahlias, in peat moss. I didn't dampen the peat, as I never do for my dahlias. None of them has seemed too shriveled. Anyway, I potted the one up 2 days ago, so we'll see what happens! I'll report back if/when it starts to sprout. (I'm wondering if it would like a little heat?)

• samhain10 - 5a