Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ela_cherry

Need help my Aloe Vera begun forming white spots

Ela Cherry
6 years ago

I'm a beginner in growing plants and i've recently bought an Aloe Vera like a week ago. I've transfused it in another vase and i've kept it in a nordic room with like 20 C degrees up to 24 C, not near the direct light of the sun. I don't know why it started to form white spots when there were none when i've bought it. Can someone give me an advice, please?

Comments (15)

• rina_Ontario,Canada 5a
    6 years ago
    last modified: 6 years ago

Are you concerned about whitish areas at the base of leaves in first photo? Color lightening like that happens when plant is not receiving enough light. You confirmed it by writing:..."not near the direct light of the sun"...

May I ask what kind of soil you used to pot it up? Did you take old soil off the roots? How much bigger is the new container than original was?

• Ela Cherry
    Original Author
    6 years ago

I didn't used a special soil, it could be used for every plant. Yes, i didn't took off the old soil in which was in, i've just put it in the new vase like that and covered the rest with the universal flower soil. The new vase is like with 3-4 cm larger in diameter than the old one. And yes, i'm really concerned with the white spots it has now, should i put it in a place with more light?

• rina_Ontario,Canada 5a
    6 years ago

It needs more light so I would move it where it could get some.

I can see outline where it was potted before; it may or may not have some roots problem in the future. It is possible that original soil was peat and that has hardened around the roots - if that is the case, plant won't be getting much moisture. Container it is in should also have drainage holes.

It is recommended to get rid of old soil; use new pot that is one size bigger than old one and has drainage hole; use well draining mix, and supply good light to plant.

Ela Cherry thanked rina_Ontario,Canada 5a