Your shopping cart is empty.

Winter sowing hoop house

Skip1909
January 1, 2018

I built a hoop house set-up for winter sowing. Im definitely over-complicating things but I want to start a lot of seeds and don't want to look at loads of soda bottles sitting out in the yard. I'm using 2"x2"x5" deep plug trays, and the covering for the hoop house is an Agfabric plant cover (84"x72" 5oz weight). I havent sorted out how I'm going to access the inside, maybe through the ends, or I might create a flap or door in the top.

The blue packing straps are only on there while the PVC arches set and become bent. They were quite cold and rigid at first with the weather. If you made them during the summer you could warm them up in the sun, or in the cold blast them with a heat gun to soften them up, but I don't have one on hand.

I will do a few soda bottles as well for a control/back up in case this doesn't work.

Comments (17)
  • gagalzone8

That is great! I am new to winter sowing this year. I am all about being creative and making life easier! I built a cattle panel hoop house to protect my rose cuttings (rooted) over the winter. It has really worked great. I had way too many to try to move in and out of the garage. It is unheated and we have hit the low 20s. I have 3 mil plastic over it. Everything looks fine so far. I used bungee cords to hold the plastic. I can roll up the sides on warm days and hook the bungee over to hold it. I am saving your info. I think that is a great way to protect them from squirrels (I despise those creatures!!! Hot pepper has been keeping them out right now) and dogs. Please let me know how it works out. Interested in results with the ag fabric.

• Skip1909

I had to look up cattle panel hoop house, that is a new one to me.