Your shopping cart is empty.

What do you fertilize tomatoes with throughout the season?

ginjj
July 7, 2018

I'd love to hear your routine for fertilizing your tomatoes starting with planting and throughout the growing season. I've been growing tomatoes for 30+ years but I do not have a routine I do all the time. I have switched to completely organic and that's good. I usually plant 6-7 plants and have varying degrees of success from really great to poor. I do rotate the site every 2-3 years and of course amend the soil with store bought compost. I plant a few heirlooms and the rest old standards.

Thanks!

Comments (20)
  • lgteacher

My healthiest tomato is growing in the ground where I used to have a compost bin. It doesn't get anything supplemental. My others in raised beds are fertilized about once a month with a balanced fertilizer, Dr. Earth or something else organic. The plant below is a Brandywine which gave me over 40 pounds of tomatoes last year. Of course, my location and the weather played a big part.

ginjj thanked lgteacher
  • CindyMac

I use TomatoTone. First application about a month after planting and then every 2 weeks for the next month.

Pulled most of my plants today. Kept a few Sun Golds. Had a nice harvest, but all good things come to an end.

May 23...

June 7....

ginjj thanked CindyMac
  • digdirt2

If you browse though many of the many previous discussions here about what to fertilize with (search will pull them up) you'll find that everyone has their personal favorite brand to use. The crucial point is regular applications. And any one of a hundred different well balanced sources will work - depending on if you are growing in containers or in the ground.