Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kerryvarwig

How do you feel about a different bathroom look for each bathroom?

kerryvarwig
5 years ago

Should you match every cabinet style and color for flow, or surprise with the unexpected look?

Comments (21)

• PRO
    Lane Williams Architects
    5 years ago

As an architect, I prefer consistency in the interior finishes and details, but I know interior designers who regard each room as a new opportunity to create a special environment.

kerryvarwig thanked Lane Williams Architects
  • gigirambles
    5 years ago

I'm not a designer or an architect; but to me, I would think that it wouldn't matter. Each room is it's own space so if you want different cabinets or colors, go for it. Finishes, I'm less sure about. I prefer all the door knobs match, but that's just me.

kerryvarwig thanked gigirambles
  • Rita / Bring Back Sophie 4 Real
    5 years ago

There are people in both camps. I like consistency in bathrooms- not carbon copies, but a cohesiveness. In my house all the faucets and toilets in the bathrooms are the same. I used marble in all of them as well, though my sons have a different mosaic from what I have. All the vanities are wall hung, but they are not all the same color. Some will say that leads to an commercial/hotel feeling.

Of course the powder room is a different story and that one can get all gussied up. That is a cliché, to be sure, but it's a fun room to play with anyway.

kerryvarwig thanked Rita / Bring Back Sophie 4 Real
  • AJCN
    5 years ago

We recently re-modeled 4 bathrooms. The office/guest bathroom used pretty much the same materials and overall look/colors as the master bath. The hall/boys' bathroom had kind of a masculine and a little bit of a more dressed-up look. And the girls' bathroom which is inside their room and not open to the hall, had a unique girly look that they chose. So 2 of them pretty much matched (master and office/guest), and 2 didn't.

kerryvarwig thanked AJCN
  • AJCN