Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mikerno_1micha

Should I dig up my lilies? Is it something I must do now?

myermike_1micha
5 years ago

I have never done this before. But it seems the area where all my lilies grow has gotten crowed and the flowers this past summer were much smaller the usual.

Is this a must? How do I even go about it? I'm afraid to dig them all up. Do I re plant them, break them up? Please help.

Mike

Comments (8)

• StevePA6a
    5 years ago

Nothing to be afraid of, I'm always shuffling my lilies around. I find them to be quite easy to grow. Other than voles, and stem borers, the only time I lose them is when I try to stretch their limits for shade tolerance.

If yours are getting crowded, I'd consider that a sign that they're happy, and you could probably find some new homes for some of them now.

Otoh, if they are shrinking in size, I'd want to dig in there, and find out why-voles, rot, etc.

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    5 years ago

Are you talking about day lilies (Hemerocalli) with a fan of leaves a couple of feet tall and flowers on leafless stalks or true lilies that have bulbs and a single tall leafy stalk? How and when you divide would be a bit different For true lilies vs, day lilies. And there are a bunch of other plants withn”lily” as part of their name, so if you can add a photo in the comments or tell us which you have, that would be helpful.

• myermike_1micha
    Original Author
    5 years ago
    last modified: 5 years ago

I am sorry should’ve specifically said Oriental lilies I have all kinds of fragrant Oriental lilies. I have an oriental lily patch about 3‘ x 5‘ big and it’s getting crowded I see little suckers coming up all the time. The flowers opened much more quicker than they could grow into huge fllowers this year. The were a lot smaller than usual. No where as big as the first couple of years I planted them (

• dbarron
    5 years ago