Your shopping cart is empty.

Trees that stay green stubbornly late

hairmetal4ever
November 12, 2018

I have noticed this in both states I’ve lived in - Ohio, and Maryland...

It’ll be around this time of year, when the vast majority of trees have either lost all of their leaves, are well on their way to doing so. But there’s that one tree sticking out that’s still almost completely green. And I’m not talking about trees that always stay green late, like a sawtooth oak, but one where most specimens of its species are well on their way to dormancy, but this particular one is a hold out.

When I was a student at the University of Akron, there was an English Oak that stayed completely green well into December, and in that climate, most years the leaves ended up getting frozen in situ while still green, and then grudgingly dropping off by the new year. It seemed that temps below 20F were necessary to kill the leaves.

Here in MD, there is a Platanus that does the same, it’s still deep green when most others are bare, or at least brown/yellow. It usually holds out until early December as well unless a hard freeze does the job first.

Comments (11)

• bengz6westmd

Exotic trees sometimes do this -- not "smart" in this climate. Enormous English elms where I grew up held leaves late & so early one Nov got hammered by an early wet snow and suffered fairly bad branch-breakage. Norway & Japanese maples. Chinese & Siberian elms. Weeping willows. Sawtooth oaks as you mention. English oaks (actually hold on to their leaves all winter). My Japanese larch, but whaas shows even American larch in the upper midwest does the same thing. Perhaps your mentioned Platanus is a Plane tree (hybrid), but my pure Amer sycamore holds later than most trees (finally bare the last week). Northern red oak holds leaves in the forest quite late too.

Perhaps Ginkgo "knows" a thing or two after the millions & millions of yrs -- drops leaves pronto after the first hard freeze.