Your shopping cart is empty.

Is this ceramic tile rectified?

Laura Grosmaire
January 11, 2019
last modified: January 11, 2019

I've gotten 2 different answers from MSI. . . but think I'm getting to the bottom of the mystery. Adella White comes in both a ceramic and porcelain tile. I was hoping to use the porcelain (for toughness)for the bath/shower alcove, but have yet to see it. MSI sent me home with the ceramic tile (after specifically saying I was looking for porcelain.)

In the meantime, I can't confirm whether it is or is not rectified from MSI. I'm awaiting a porcelain tile sample. I "think" this ceramic tile is rectified based on the edge, but I'm a rank novice. Can any tile people confirm?

(And I think the answer is that the porcelain tile (floor) is not rectified, but the ceramic tile (wall) is rectified, but have not definitively confirmed that.) The ceramic tile shown comes in 12x24, would you expect an 18x18 porcelain tile to not be rectified?

Comments (16)
  • ATT- LASS
    The tile you have there is not rectified. Rectified tiles are almost ridiculously smooth and pressed and can have a smaller grout line size between the tiles.
  • Laura Grosmaire

Thanks. The sides are very smooth. But that's relative! I showed the back because it is my understanding that this is another way to tell if tile is rectified due to the signs of sawing/grinding (affect on border pattern) as a function of post firing modification. But again, I'm a raging novice. . .

• ATT- LASS
    You want consistency throughout the hole tiled room. You run into rectified tile in porcelain tile is only less porous which makes porcelain more durable.
  • Laura Grosmaire