Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
maggie_moe16

Advice for receiving spring orders

M MW
5 years ago

I have quite a few new plants coming to me this spring...I'm embarrassed how many . But I'm still a newbie and haven't received a mail order before. What steps should I take so that they aren't in total shock? I'm in MN so weather can be unpredictable in the spring. If we have a spring at all! Thanks for any advice!

Comments (8)

• Pieter zone 7/8 B.C.
    5 years ago

After you've unboxed and unwrapped the plants, hydrate them! In order to avoid possible cross-contamination of things like HVX and foliar nematodes put each plant in an individual container and put the roots in water up to the crown for at least an hour before planting and like any newly planted plant make sure you water regularly for the first 6-8 weeks!

Pieter

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    5 years ago

unwrap ... with a ballpoint pen.. write the name on the tallest leaf ....

put in a pail with an inch of water for a couple hours ... no more ... put a small towel of paper around the plants ... the roots need to be damp .. but they are not aquatic.. so they shouldnt be left in the pail for an extended period ....

moisten some potting soil .. and pot them up ... couple per pot if need be.. its temporary ... just jam them in there ...

in MN ... the trick might be the time between receipt and when they can actually go outside.. frost/freeze free ... like mid to late may for me in MI ....

i would hope you bought from sellers who do not ship diseased plants ...

when they can go out ... bare root and plant in native soil ...

back in the day.. when i got WAAAYYYY to many ... i had a wheelbarrow full of damp media... and had about 100 plants in it ... lol ... but i had a heated garage .... and kept it rather cool... i didnt want them starting to grow ... i wanted them in near suspended animation ... if they do start growing.. you will need to harden them off when they go outside ....