Your shopping cart is empty.

Help me choose floors and cabinets

kevin D
February 10, 2019
Recently removed wall between the kitchen and living room leaving a gap in the floor where the wall used to be. I will most likely be redoing both floors all the same color. Consequently, I'm assuming the cabinets will need to be painted. Countertops are a blackish color and less than a year old so they won't be changing. Walls are a light gray. Please offer up floor and cabinet suggestions for this all to look right, I'm not very good at stuff like this

Comments (6)

• PRO
    Oak & Broad

Maybe talk to your contractor about taking the wood flooring through the kitchen.

• kevin D
    I am doing all the work myself. I don't really like the laminate floor so I want to replace it all at once
  • PRO
    Sina Sadeddin Architectural Design

Since it's a smaller space I'd run the same flooring throughout. If you're replacing it all I suggest either going for real hardwood or if you're on a budget go for LVP. Laminate is not a good choice around moisture so I don't recommend it for bathrooms or kitchens.

Painting cabinets can be expensive and DIYing it takes a lot of work. They look fine so if you found a flooring that complimented them I don't think they need to change. If you do paint them, stick to lighter colors as the darker countertop could make the space very dark.

• celerygirl

Following.

• SJ McCarthy

Sina makes an excellent point. A DIY cabinet painting can take weeks and weeks of work/curing. This would be the last thing I would want to tackle.

To get the same flooring installed in this space is going to be tricky without painting the cabinets, but it can be done. You will demolish the tile and remove the laminate. You will patch the subfloor as well as get it all flat and happy while you are there. Once you have gotten to that point, you can then decide how this is going to work.