Your shopping cart is empty.

Are roses like 8 lifecycle year old shrubs

a1an
February 11, 2019
last modified: February 11, 2019

LOL. Rose Noob Here. Based on my past readings, seems like ya'll rip-n-replace with a different rose if/when it doesn't perform ?

I don't have the slightly clue how big, fast or bushy roses grow.

With a grafted root, if I bury the graft slightly, will I see more than than the 5-6 budded canes come up from the ground (in my mind, with a own root, new stems develop from the roots from time to time).

Moreso, as the roses become established and the primary 5-6 canes get older/thicker on the bottom, I often see roses in the neighborhood with growth/blooms on the top but no on the lower 2 feet ? Is this atypical of how roses grow ? I would prefer to not have *bare feet* as grows

Comments (13)

• mad_gallica

It depends. The big things it depends on are where in the world you are, and the type of rose you are talking about. Without that *extremely* basic information, it is impossible to say anything. Next would probably be the level of care you are willing to commit to.

• a1an

7A. I don't plan to spray unless I really ~ need to~. I try not to spray the vegs, and more often than not, if I know I will get some good soaking rain, I may pre-emptively spray just to mitigate things. Got kiddos that run around and touch everything under the moon, so I try to be as ~organic~ as possible.

I'm pretty good at over-wintering mulch and all that sorta stuff....

However, if the answer to the last question is that most blooms tend to not bloom on the thicker woody stems as they grown, than maybe it is dig/replant/rejuvintate sorta answer ?

I would prefer the look at have blooms on the lower 24"

• Amanda Zone10Socal

you could get a variety that sort of drapes over or is more bushy. The hybrid teas seem to mostly bloom on the top. what kind of roses do you have?

• a1an