Your shopping cart is empty.
tranpham21

Please help! My succulent leaves are opening up, thinner and longer.

tranpham21
March 19, 2019
last modified: March 19, 2019

Hi everyone,

I'm a total newbie to succulents and cacti. I bough this succulent about 5 weeks ago and it was a beautiful rosette with thick leaves and the leaves were closed. I have it on my window ledge and it has been getting at least 4-6 hours of afternoon sunlight a day. I water it once the stick comes out completely dry.

I don't know what happened to it. Please help!

Comments (8)

• Crenda 10A SW FL

In spite of your placing it by a window, it is probably still not getting optimum light. Sunlight is filtered by our windows, especially if you have energy efficient windows. And screens filter out even more of the light.

Is there a drainage hole in the pots? It sounds like you are doing everything right.

I'll be interested in comments by others. Hang in there! ;-)

tranpham21 thanked Crenda 10A SW FL
  • rina_Ontario,Canada

It needs more sunlight. This is a common problem with plants not receiving appropriate amount of light. 4-6 hrs of sunlight thru the window is obviouly not enogh - plant is telling you. Hopefully you can expose it to much better sunlight, make sure it is well acclimatized to it or it will burn. Sunlight thru the window is much filtered by the glass. Many of us try to help by using supplemental lights before plants can be put outdoors. Try to solve this situation ASAP, oherwise plant will grow tall, skinny (leaves will be thin a far apart and they wil open up as you can see already), and color may get bleached out. If that happens, it will not kill the plant but the looks will be quite diminished. At that point, the only help is 'decapitating' the plant - cutting the long stem and re-rooting top part. But it is better if you don't have to do it.

tranpham21 thanked rina_Ontario,Canada
  • Meyermike(Zone 6a Ma.)