Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alioop9082

Need advice on kitchen colors

alioop9082
5 years ago
last modified: 5 years ago

Hello all, I am fairly new to decorating and I would love your input. I am buying a house and will be making some changes to the kitchen and dining area (countertop, repainting of walls and cabinets, and new backsplash). I find it very beige-y right now. Here it is:

I like a bright, but inviting kitchen. I’m not great at qualifying my style, but I think what I envision would be called a kind of modern farmhouse look...

I planned to change the countertops to all match to the black quartz on the island. I love subway tile, and I am leaning toward a tile backsplash in a light blue shade. Let me know what you think. Here is my inspiration:

Currently the cabinets look pretty white in pictures but they are very much a warm off white/cream in person. I want them brighter, so I was thinking sherwin-williams Pure White, but I’m not positive. I should add, the kitchen should get light from both north and south facing windows. I hope this will be a crisp white without looking extremely cold or stark. I would continue that color onto the trims and door to the porch. If you have a suggestion on another shade of white, I’m all ears!

The walls are what really throw me...I don’t like the combo of floor and wall color; they don’t seem to compliment each other well to me. I don’t mind the floors themselves, so they are staying. But what direction should I go for wall color to help tie it all together? I had thought of going lighter, to a very pale griege or off-white (like SW Eider white and Incredible white). Any opinions on that would be appreciated, and I’m open to all other suggestions for wall color. Thanks!

Comments (17)

• Holly Stockley
    5 years ago