Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjkoc

Felicia vs Pink Gruss an Aachen

I am a newbie when it comes to OGR. I’ve read many posts that praise these two roses that to my eyes seem very similar in form and color.

Can those of you who who are familiar with these two roses tell me what makes them different? Can you share about: growth habit, remontancy, flower presentation fragrance, bush size, flower size, negatives, etc?

Which one is a must have? Would both do well in zone 10a/22?

Thank you for sharing!

Comments (36)

• Sheila z8a Rogue Valley OR
    4 years ago

Felicia is a tall vase shaped bush the size of a common lilac . Gruss is a shorter bush. Do you know about HMF roses? Google it and you can see photos and look up details of all well known roses.

jjkOC zone 10a/22, SoCal thanked Sheila z8a Rogue Valley OR
  • Stephanie, 9b inland SoCal
    4 years ago

Pink Gruss an Aachen is a small Bush with flowers that face up. Here is the one at Huntington Garden.
    https://www.helpmefind.com/rose/l.php?l=2.2228
    Felicia is a short climber in a warm zone like yours. Whenever you see a height range for a plant you will need to look at the largest height for your climate.
    https://www.helpmefind.com/rose/l.php?l=2.1770&tab=1

jjkOC zone 10a/22, SoCal thanked Stephanie, 9b inland SoCal
  • ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
    4 years ago

My Gruss an Aachen looks a lot like a floribunda. It's not much more than three feet tall and almost 4 feet wide. Flower size is 3.5 to 4 inches. In my climate it has no disease problems. The color is variable, sometimes a light apricot-pink and at other times, like now in greater heat, almost white. The fragrance is light to my nose. I'm very fond of this rose, which has a charming older-rose aspect.

It's the bush in front, taken several years ago when it was quite a bit smaller.

jjkOC zone 10a/22, SoCal thanked ingrid_vc so. CA zone 9
  • jjkOC zone 10a/22, SoCal
    Original Author
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago