cheryl_hewitt80

Keep the wall of mirrors and glass shelves?

Cheryl Hewitt
August 7, 2019

Yay or Nay?

This picture show is from the realty listing (5 yrs old), so not our furniture, but right now we have a big TV blocking one section and the glass shelves are cluttered with pictures and kids' artwork so not ideal for showing you the wall of mirrors. (The TV will be moving out of this room and it'll be more of a semi-formal room in the near future.)

We're moving towards MCM design. Would you remove the mirrors and glass shelves? If so, would you also remove the divider?

TIA

Comments (32)

• Jeanne Seefus

I think it's a very cool feature.

Cheryl Hewitt thanked Jeanne Seefus
  • CindyR

I would keep it until you completely de-clutter and move out the TV. After that, please post pictures.

I always start with the lesser difficulty and easiest to change first, but I’m not a pro.

Cheryl Hewitt thanked CindyR
  • PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting

IMO remove the mirror and the shelves and replace with a large piece of art it would be nice to see your furniture though.

Cheryl Hewitt thanked Patricia Colwell Consulting
  • Brown Dog

i think the midmod look of mirror and glass shelves is a good one. But! The current brackets holding up your shelves are cheap and make the whole wall look cheap. Perhaps update with black wrought iron brackets? Or warm wood brackets? Or stainless steel?

Cheryl Hewitt thanked Brown Dog
  • Cheryl Hewitt

Jeanne Seefus, thank you.

CindyR, will do.

Patricia Colwell Consulting, replacing it with a large piece of art is do-able. I could even make something myself, perhaps a generously sized diptych.

Brown Dog, I think you nailed it with pointing out how terrible those brackets are! Oh, you've given me lots of great ideas to explore.

Thanks, everyone!

• PRO
    BeverlyFLADeziner