Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rick_tanner47

My First Attempt At Home Design - Plan Review

R T
4 years ago

I am new to Houzz and new to home design in general. My career is in commercial construction, so I am familiar with the industry, but I am taking my first stab at designing a home from scratch.

We are working with an existing one story mountain home on a hillside with a basement.

We are hoping to keep the original footprint of the home's basement. Atop that, we are showing a two story home with a 24x24 garage and a two story addition to add a mud room and space for a master bathroom. Kitchen and living will be on the main floor, master suite upstairs, and kids rooms/guest room in the basement. We are going for a more modern look with this home.

The plans I have created so far are clearly very rough. I will eventually hire an architect and engineer to put together a final set.

At this point, I have the first and second floors laid out with the exception of the area over the garage. Everything is not scaled perfectly yet and I have not added thickness to all of the walls . I am interested in any feedback regarding the layout, room sizes, etc. Any help is appreciated.

Link to the plan in PDF form - https://1drv.ms/b/s!AiGaEoeYPXzfhvIbjbOQmriULTcopQ?e=T0tCui

Thanks all!

Comments (45)

• PRO
    PPF.
    4 years ago

I will eventually hire an architect and engineer to put together a final set.

Make it easy on yourself and the Architect -- hire one now and allow them to do their job.

And if you want comments on your plan, make it easy on others and create an image (jpg or png) and post here.

• R T
    Original Author
    4 years ago
    last modified: 4 years ago