design1008

New Kitchen Countertops or Not?

design1008
December 1, 2019
last modified: December 1, 2019

Hello,

I am trying to decide if I should update my kitchen countertops and backsplash in my city townhome or just update the backsplash with a plain white subway tile and leverage the current granite. I did have the cabinets repainted with BM Winter White. Attached are 3 pics of my current kitchen. If I update, I would be installing marble on the center island (pic attached of slab) and a medium grey quartz on surrounding counters (bar extension on island would be removed). Another option would be installing honed marble everywhere (see 2nd marble pic). My concern is the current granite may now look dated. Thoughts?

Comments (26)

• Ig222

Do you like the granite you have? I think it is nice, but it is personal. If you do, change only the backsplash. If you have the budget and do not like the stone, change it, but I am not sure this marble is a good choice. I am not an expert, but it reads cold for your kitchen. If you want to change the island, find a nice stone that works with your kitchen and redo the island countertop only.

• design1008

Thank you for comment! I don't mind the granite either. Just want to update the overall look. I may just update the backsplash for now. Thanks again!

• Zalco/bring back Sophie!

I like your backsplash (and your gorgeous breakfast bar.)

• AJCN