wilderjeanne

What colour for my front door?

wilderjeanne
11 days ago

We live in a beautiful stone house with a white front door (with glass insert) and white storm/screen outer door. I want to paint the white portion of the doors. I welcome suggestions for colours. Our porch cushions are a sort of rust colour; I don't want to match those, only not to clash with them. Also, I don't want to paint the white trim around the front door nor around the transom window, as then I feel I'd have to paint all of the window trim around the outside the whole house. (There are many houses in my surrounding area that have painted front doors with white trim around them.)

I have thought of a dark burgundy brown or perhaps a dark dusky blue to complement the rust cushions. Also, what colour should we then paint the threshold? Any ideas? Thank you in advance.

Comments (22)

• Elaine Ricci

I'm no pro, but I can picture your door looking gorgeous in a pale turquoise.

wilderjeanne thanked Elaine Ricci
  • wilderjeanne

Elaine, I had initially thought of a soft blue, but my DH hankers after darker shades. Negotiations may be in order! I am open to any and all suggestions.

• PRO
    Diana Bier Interiors, LLC

You have a wonderful house--love the stone! I could see a deep dark green on your front door. Ben Moore "Black Forest Green" is a great color--I have it on my wood fence. Also Narragansett Green, Yorktowne Green, and Lafayette Green would be good choices.

If you want blue, Newburyport Blue and Van Deusen Blue are pretty. Anything dark like that will provide a nice contrast to the stone, the white trim and would go with the rust cushions.

wilderjeanne thanked Diana Bier Interiors, LLC
  • wilderjeanne

Diana, those are great shades. I'm liking the warmth of the Lafayette Green...

• potchiemagoodleberry

Black to coordinate with the stained glass lead and furniture.

wilderjeanne thanked potchiemagoodleberry
  • btydrvn