Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
christa_rheingans

Brick, concrete, or stone front steps for this bungalow?

Hello fellow house-lovers!

As you can see in these pictures, the original brick steps (with some sort of concrete overlay) are in dire need of replacement (I inquired with many companies about repairing them, but they all said they would only demolish and rebuild). Since that is my only option, I now have lots more options for how they could look. I live in Minnesota, so due to harsh winters I cannot do all-brick steps. All horizontal surfaces must be either concrete or limestone. I was originally hoping to replace them with brick, but I'm not sure I love how the combination of materials looks.

I have lots more thoughts, but I'd love to hear YOURS! Also, if anyone wants to play with landscape design, go for it! Also also, what kind of software do y'all use to make mock-ups? I'm not a professional designer, but would be willing to invest a little in software if it made decisions like these easier to make.

Thanks in advance!

Comments (25)

• houssaon
    3 years ago

I would do concrete. Consider a step down from the front door, so there is not issue with water or melting snow against the door. Have lower risers and more steps with a generous pad. Use brick if you can the replicate the original sides with iron railings.

Christa Rheingans thanked houssaon
  • Snaggy
    3 years ago

Brick to match the Chimney

Christa Rheingans thanked Snaggy
  • Anna (6B/7A in MD)
    3 years ago

I like Yardvaark's rendition. I wish you could use brick somehow, I would certainly try. And by the way, your house is simply beautiful.

Christa Rheingans thanked Anna (6B/7A in MD)
  • Angel 18432
    3 years ago

Darling home. Yardvaark has nailed it. Concrete for durability.

Christa Rheingans thanked Angel 18432
  • Little Bug
    3 years ago
    last modified: 3 years ago