Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
carol_davis104

Can you help me create the best 'first' impression?

Hello everyone!

This is my first time posting, but I wanted to say how much I enjoy reading about the many projects challenges folks have .. and the amazing advice offered!

Here is my dilemma (well, one of them). I preparing my 60s ranch home to sell. The current look is a brown transitional roof, cream siding and a red brick facade. The roof is newer, and the aluminum siding just painted. It all looks 'cleaner' - but boring (I do still need to clean the chimney brick). I just painted a sample color on the front door, but either I do not like it (or there is a lot missing to make it look good).

I have a few projects to complete/update, since I am preparing to sell - and to me the 'first' impression is an important one. The house sits in an older neighborhood in somewhat of a cul-de-sac, and quite far back off the road. Even though it is in the city, once you get to the property it makes you feel you are on vacation (I want to give it a stunning curb appeal). I had dark brown gutters/downspouts, but they were accidentally painted.

Some of the things I am working on now is freshening up all the mulch and planting flowers. There is a small tree in the front yard that has died, I will replace it with a little larger flowering tree. I am also powering washing all the concrete, cleaning/fixing cutter covers and cleaning the chimney brick.

I thought about putting a lattice up the front of the tallest brick (adding a climbing plant), to give an area of interest. Obviously, I would like to do something with the front door and the overall entryway. The concrete patio ends almost to the left side of the door, which does not help. Once I remove the bench under the large picture window, I thought about adding a good-sized planter box on legs (centered w/the center window) - full of various colors/sizes of flowers.