brooklyngirl09

Kitchen Remodeling Help!! First time home owner

S G
last month
last modified: 26 days ago

Hello, amazing designers out there. I am looking for input for remodeling this old kitchen. This is my first time trying to do something like this. So I would really appreciate all the good tips. I am planning to change the countertop ( Quartz? ), cabinets, add a backsplash, new sink, and faucet. I have been doing some research, but have been overwhelmed with information. I have always wanted a white kitchen, but there are at least 50 shades of white cabinets, 50 shades of white quartz countertop, so really not sure what would look good for my kitchen which has a brown wood flooring. I am really hoping that this group can help clear some confusion. So going in line with that, I have written down some options. Apologize if my suggestions are an eyesore :P

Counter top ( Quartz) : Calacatta Nuvo/ Calacatta gold/ Venato Carrara /…?

Cabinet color: Creamy white/ pure white/ pearl white/ shaded white…?

Backsplash: Marble mosaic/ subway tiles/ ...?

Faucet: Satin Nickel/ Satin Brass/…?

Sink: Undercount stainless steel/ …?

Change from knobs to handles

I would also like to create a breakfast corner by extending the countertop a few inches to the left and change the french door opening to the other side (right to left). Is this doable? Will this affect the aesthetics since there is a door and the overhang will be visible from outside? The dining table in the pathway, makes the space cramped, so an extension will really help.

There is no microwave provision, so I was thinking of cutting the vertical cabinet and adding a microwave. Like the 3D drawing below. The other option is to place it where the hood is (above the stove)

The cabinets on the right, planning to add a glass front to it.

Some of my inspirations:

Palatine Restored Kitchen · More Info

Layout of the kitchen

Updated layout 1

Updated Layout 2

I appreciate all help! :)

Comments (37)

• tozmo1