Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_8489027

Wing Chairs at the ends of a large dining table?

User
3 years ago

I recently bought this large Queen Anne style table for next to nothing in an antique shop. As I have 6 very plain French style balloon back side chairs that I am going to reupholster. I still need some arm chairs to sit at the head and foot of the table. My husband and I were at a decorator's shop recently and he really likes the idea of wing chairs in these spots. What do you think? Too many styles happening? Should I stick to a French style armchair?

I plan to chalk paint the 5 Queen Anne chairs that came with this table/reupholster the seats and sell them on Craigslist or repurpose them to a screen porch.

Comments (8)

• One Devoted Dame
    3 years ago

My husband and I were at a decorator's shop recently and he really likes the idea of wing chairs in these spots.

I'm not a pro (so keep this in mind, lol), but I *love* your husband's idea of using wing chairs. <3

• Jilly
    3 years ago

Another yes vote! Love the look. Classic.

I have a personal preference, though — that the wing chairs be larger than the side chairs. I just think it looks more balanced that way.

Can you show us one of your balloon chairs?

• PRO
    RugKnots | Area Rugs
    3 years ago

I think you should keep these chairs.All you need to do is up cycle these and add wing chairs in empty spots.Adding wing chairs on each end always looks great. I totally agree with jinx that the size of wing chairs must be larger than other chairs. It completes the look.I would also suggest you that the fabric you choose for your wing chair should be in contrast or a little different from the other chairs. It looks even more good but what ever color or pattern you choose make sure it blends with the other chairs..

These pictures will further help you to choose.

These pictures show how the size of wing chair and its print should differ from other chairs.

• ratherbesewing
    3 years ago