Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alison_bruce35

Freestanding tub next to shower - how to layout?

alison_bruce35
3 years ago
last modified: 3 years ago

I have a 118"X156" master bath that current has a tiny 36X36 shower and giant whirlpool tub. I'd prefer to have a freestanding tub next to a walk-in 48"x60" shower, but I'm working within the existing space which has a large 48" window. (and we aren't moving the toilet) This is the layout I'm thinking, but is there enough space between the tub & shower? Any other thoughts on how to situate the tub?

Comments (12)

• PRO
    Patricia Colwell Consulting
    3 years ago

The tub needs to have a min. of 12” all the way around it so do you have that it does not look like it to me. Post some pics of the space

• alison_bruce35
    Original Author
    3 years ago

Here is what the space looks like currently.

• AJCN
    3 years ago

We have a 4 x 6 shower, but with a clipped corner where the door is. Can you bring the tub out away from the wall? I think you have room to clean around it if you do that.

alison_bruce35 thanked AJCN
  • alison_bruce35
    Original Author
    3 years ago

Yeah I do want a pony wall and would prefer to have my fixtures opposite the shower head. I considered putting the door where you have it but I liked the idea of being able to put my towel somewhere. I can change the orientation of the door but then it would open right where I stand in front of the sink, so I'm not sure which way is better. Is it ok if the tub isn't centered with the window?

• AJCN
    3 years ago

Not being centered under the window would not bother me because the window isn't centered on that back wall. But I know it may bother some people.

Personally I don't care for freestanding tubs. But if you really want a freestanding one, you have room to put a little wooden stool or something like that next to it for your shampoo and such.